Tags

,

This was shared with me by the eminent Rick Ollerman, who tagged me before I could escape. But who am I to pass up a chance to talk about books?

What am I working on? Multiple projects. I’ve just begun editing a para-rom, The God Collector, and am hard at work on the third SSR book, Velvetopia.

How does my work differ from others of its genre? I like to focus on classic legends and folktale monsters which are neglected or under-explored in modern fiction. Thief of Midnight is a day in the sun (so to speak) for the old-school bogeyman, while The God Collector takes a new angle on the cliche Egyptian mummy story. Humanity has rich, varied folklore, and I think urban fantasy is missing an opportunity by not exploring it.

Why do I write what I do? Three words: Uncensored Fairy Tales. My parents told us all kinds of stories, and we were living in a city with an incredible, bloody history of its own. It was inevitable.

How does my writing process work? First I scribble ideas on any piece of paper to hand, usually in a cheap composition notebook. Transcribe, refine, copy-and-paste, write new pieces on paper and save any old files I cast off. A plot eventually evolves from the primordial slime. I do write plot outlines, but I always keep it loose because things can change a lot. I’ve never finished a book without looking at my own work and saying “Huh. Didn’t see THAT coming.”

